SJICF Awards Nearly $150k in Scholarships, Academic Awards

Although 2020 has been an incredibly challenging school year, the San Juan Island Community Foundation carried on its tradition of awarding annual scholarships to local students. Over the last few months, SJICF has awarded just under $150k in college scholarships and awards to 39 local students for the 2020-2021 school year.

9 graduating seniors from Friday Harbor High School and 2 from Spring Street International School were awarded new scholarships from funds held at the San Juan Island Community Foundation. 25 previous recipients were also awarded one-year renewals and new scholarships.

Students are selected each year based on their financial need, level of academic achievement and community involvement. 2 funds are awarded based on intended field of study.

This year’s scholarship recipients are:

John Volk Memorial Scholarship

  • Julian Brown – Santa Clara University
  • Isabella Davis – Wellesley College
  • Levi Doenges – Central Washington University/Aviation Training Program
  • Arlo Harold – University of Arizona

Marcia L. Zakarison, MD Scholarship

  • Arlin Sanabria Velazquez – Whatcom Community College
  • Elizabeth Scott – University of Washington

SJI Community Foundation Scholarship

  • Lydia Downs – Missoula College
  • Megan Haagensen – Skagit Valley College
  • Blythe Parker – Midwives College of Utah
  • Sierra Truesdale – Seattle University

Inskeep Legacy Scholarships – New Awards (Renewable for 4 Years)

  • Ty Anderson – Rhode Island School of Design
  • Kyla Balcomb-Bartok – Washington State University
  • Josephine Crosby – Washington State University
  • Marieke Danniau – Columbus College of Art & Design
  • Evan Foley – University of Washington
  • Sander Van Hamersfeld – Gonzaga University

Inskeep Legacy Scholarships – Renewed Awards

  • Diego Anderson – Rhode Island School of Design
  • Payton Brooks – Whitworth University
  • Isabella Brown – Santa Clara University
  • Julian Brown – Santa Clara University
  • Griffin Cuomo – Chapman University
  • Ava Hoffman – Western Washington University
  • Savannah Hoffman – Western Washington University
  • Hayden Mayer – Western Washington University
  • Alexa Mora – Central Washington University
  • Aida Must – Washington State University
  • Tenley Nelsen – Seattle Pacific University
  • Jayna Ott – Pacific Lutheran University
  • Victoria Polda – Colorado School of Mines
  • Emma Schroeder – Western Washington University
  • Thea Seitz – Karolinska Intitutet
  • Georgia Smith – Pacific Lutheran University
  • Thomas Synoground – Washington State University
  • Nayaleah Tucker-Belt – Western Washington University
  • Vida Wight – Western Washington University
  • Kiana Woods – University of Idaho

At the Friday Harbor Middle School 8th grade virtual promotion event on June 11th, 4 students received the Deanna J. Anderson Legacy Fund award. Each year, this award is given to young women excelling in the areas of math and/or science. The 2020 winners were Ava Martin and McKenna Clark (Math) and Maggie Zehner and Bella Ross (Science).

Established in 1994, SJICF is celebrating more than 25 years of success in granting funds to local nonprofits and providing scholarships to local students through the generosity of donors who wish to improve the quality of life on San Juan Island. SJICF’s mission is the help the San Juan Island community thrive through inspired and informed generosity and the Foundation’s trusted stewardship. To learn more, visit

Posted on July 21, 2020 at 6:46 am by

Categories: Community, Education, People

No comments yet. Be the first!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting a comment you grant the San Juan Update a perpetual license to reproduce your words and name/web site in attribution. Inappropriate, irrelevant and contentious comments may not be published at an admin's discretion. Your email is used for verification purposes only, it will never be shared.

Receive new post updates: Entries (RSS)
Receive followup comments updates: RSS 2.0
%d bloggers like this: