San Juan Island Fire & Rescue Honored for 2019 Service

SJIF&R Firefighter of the Year: (From L to R) Deputy Fire Chief Noel Monin, Kathleen Salinas and Fire Chief Norvin Collins

Fire District Commissioners and honored guests recently attended an annual awards dinner and ceremony recognizing San Juan Island Fire & Rescue (SJF&R) members for their service during 2019.

Kathleen Salinas was presented with 2019 Firefighter of the Year award for her outstanding contributions on a number of initiatives and her commitment to her community and to SJF&R. Kathleen is a volunteer firefighter and Emergency Medical Technician (EMT) and she was selected for her leadership in community risk reduction and fire prevention through the Firewise program and her overall work as a committed, responding firefighter, EMT and fire boat operator.

Brad Smith received the 2019 Rookie of the Year award for his commitment and performance during training, as well as his excellent response work on calls. Volunteer firefighter Smith has exhibited outstanding professionalism, commitment and performance as one of our newest volunteer firefighters.

At this year’s ceremony, Fire District Commissioners and SJIF&R Chief Norvin Collins announced the presentation of four new awards:

The first Unit Citation Award was awarded to the Marine Responders, the operators and crew of San Juan Island Fireboat One. The Marine Responders were recognized for commitment to extra duty training and response calls in 2019. San Juan Island Fire & Rescue Captain Kurt Long accepted the citation on behalf of the 17 qualified boat operators and crewmembers.

Chief Collins awarded the first Fire Chief’s Award to Robin Garcia. Robin is a payroll deputy under San Juan County Auditor Milene Henley. In her role with the Auditor’s Office, Robin provided outstanding support to San Juan Island Fire & Rescue.

The inaugural Commissioner’s award was presented to Commissioners’ Award to Harry See for his many years of committed service in a wide number of roles with SJIF&R and for his continued leadership.

The inaugural Honorary Life Member Award was presented to Fire Commissioner Albert Olson for his years of service to the district as a firefighter, fire tender operator and Commissioner. Commissioner Olson has served as a dedicated volunteer with SJIF&R since 1997.

Special recognition was given to SJIF&R’s top volunteer responder in 2019. Brooke Sevier responded to 150 emergency calls in 2019.

Total SJIF&R emergency response milestones recognized include:

  • 100 Emergency Responses: Ian Joujan, Austin Foster, Kathleen Salinas, John Salinas,
  • Adam Greene, Chuck Dalldorf and Michael Jacobsen
  • 250 Emergency Responses: Dave Mountford, Craig McConnell, Dennis Sears, Jerry Sears and Victor Capron
  • 500 Emergency Responses: Ron Stanger, Erin Graham and Brien Sesby

Recognition for Total Years of Service to SJIF&R included:

1-Year of Service: Alan Arrowsmith, Leo De Bruyn, Nate Fihn, Cammille Layton, Izaac Newell, Erik Rezabek, Jenny Shrum, Brad Smith, Karen Gentry, Sue Ann Stabley and Kelsey Venegas

  • 5-years of Service: Sam Ibold and Nick Wainwright
  • 10-years of Service:  Gilbert Venegas
  • 15-years of Service: Brien Sesby
  • 20-years of Service: Mark Tompkins and Jon Zerby
  • 25-years of Service: Ron Stanger
  • 30-years of Service: Peter and Susan Risser

SJIF&R Rookie of the Year: (From L to R) Deputy Fire Chief Noel Monin, Brad Smith and Fire Chief Norvin Collins

Fire Chief’s Award: Fire Chief Norvin Collins and Robin Garcia

Commissioner’s Award: (From L to R) Fire Commissioner Albert Olson, Commission Chair Bob Jarman, Harry See and Commissioner Frank Cardinale

Honorary Life Member Award: (From L to R) Fire Chief Norvin Collins and Fire Commissioner Albert Olson

# # #

The San Juan Island Fire & Rescue was established on October 6, 1958. The fire department covers about 55 square miles, includes all of San Juan Island, as well as Brown and Pearl Islands. For more information, please visit

Posted on January 31, 2020 at 5:46 am by

Categories: Government, People, Safety

No comments yet. Be the first!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting a comment you grant the San Juan Update a perpetual license to reproduce your words and name/web site in attribution. Inappropriate, irrelevant and contentious comments may not be published at an admin's discretion. Your email is used for verification purposes only, it will never be shared.

Receive new post updates: Entries (RSS)
Receive followup comments updates: RSS 2.0
%d bloggers like this: