Election 2020

By Louise Dustrude

Five candidates have filed for county council from District 1 (San Juan) and three from District 2 (Orcas).

Filing from San Juan this week were:

Sharon Kivisto, Daniel Miller, Christine Minney, Ryan Palmateer, and Steve Wehrly. Incumbent Bill Watson did not file for reelection.

On Orcas incumbent Rick Hughes filed for reelection, and will be opposed by Michael Durland and Cindy Wolf. In both races, because more than two have filed, there will be a primary in August.

Superior Court Judge Kathryn C. Loring has filed for reelection to her second term, and she is unopposed.

U.S. Rep. Rick Larsen filed for his tenth term in the House of Representatives, and is opposed by one Democrat, Jason Call; and six Republicans, Timothy S Hazelo, Kari Ilonummi, James Dean Golder, Carrie R. Kennedy, Cody Hart, and Tim Uy, who signed up as a “Trump Republican.”

Democratic State Sen. Elizabeth (Liz) Lovelett filed for reelection. She will be opposed by Republican Charles Carrell. Democratic State Rep. Debra Lekanoff will run unopposed. Recently appointed Democratic State Rep. Alex Ramel will be opposed by Republican Russ Dziato.

San Juan County’s Charter Review Commission drew 34 candidates. The November election will cut that number to 18, who will meet after January 1 to begin consideration of possible changes to the county charter. Commissioners will be elected by voters in their own election district.

San Juan Islanders who filed are: Dave Anderson, Bill Appel, Kyle Davies, David Dehlendorf, Paul Dossett, Patty Garcia, John Geniuch, Richard Grout, Bob Jarman, Greg Lee, Kevin Loftus, John Manning, David Meilland, Nicholas Power, Necia Quast, Maureen See, and Thomas Starr

Those filing from Orcas Island are: Sharon Abreu, Greg Ayers, Tim Blanchard, Janet Brownell, Tony Ghazel, D.N. Kinsey, Minor Lile, Margaret Manning, Kevin Ranker, Olivia Roseberry, and Anne Marie Shanks.

Lopezians filing are: Julienne Battalia, Megan Constable, Jane Fuller, Liz Lafferty, Monico Mackinnon, and Robert O’Connell.

Running for precinct positions with the Democratic Central Committee are: Sharon Abreu, Bill Appel, Ryther Barbin, Stephanie Buffum, David Dehlenforf, Susan Grout, Jeffrey Hanks, Mac Langford, Learner Limbach, Alison Longley, Rick Millson, Laura Jo Severson, Stephen Shubert, David Turnoy, Kelley Unger, and Cindy Wolf.

Running for precinct positions with the Republican Central Committee are: Rick Boucher, Megan Constable, Lynda Lee Gerpheide, Minnie Knych, Michelle Loftus, Daniel Schwartz, and Thomas Starr.

There are four seats open on the State Supreme Court. Candidates for Position 3 are David Larson and Raquel Montoya-Lewis. Running for Position 4 is Charles W. Johnson. For Position 6, Richard S. Serns and G. Helen Whitener. And unopposed for Position 7 is Debra L. Stephens.

Posted on May 17, 2020 at 7:40 am by

Categories: Government, People

No comments yet. Be the first!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting a comment you grant the San Juan Update a perpetual license to reproduce your words and name/web site in attribution. Inappropriate, irrelevant and contentious comments may not be published at an admin's discretion. Your email is used for verification purposes only, it will never be shared.

Receive new post updates: Entries (RSS)
Receive followup comments updates: RSS 2.0
%d bloggers like this: