49th Annual Shaw Island Classic Race Results

The currents were strong, the winds light and temperamental, for the 48 sailboats in the 499h annual running of the Shaw Island Classic.   Hosted by the San Juan Island Yacht Club, the race is a highlight of the summer boating season, drawing sailors from throughout the region to circumnavigate Shaw Island. Racers can circle the island in either direction factoring in shifting winds, variable currents, narrow rocky channels and ferry traffic.

The wind decided to die right at the race start but then freshened enough for most racers to make the dash for Upright Channel. 90% of racers chose to do a counter-clockwise route with favorable currents most of the way. However, half the cruising class could not get past Turn Island – a 2 knot adverse current trumped 4 knots of wind.     For the majority of racers that made the turn, light wind made for a stately pace up Upright Channel, into Harney Channel and Wasp Passage on the northern side of Shaw. Just as many racers thought crossing the finish line before the deadline was out of reach, 10-12 knots greeted them as they entered San Juan Channel with a favorable ebb tide allowing a fast run across the line.

After the race, racers and guests enjoyed a hearty lasagna dinner prepared by the San Juan Island Yacht Club’s First Mates followed by the awards ceremony.

Best Overall on Corrected Time this year went to the monohull Hydra, a King 40 skippered by Sam Richardson. Ben Colwell with his Formula 18 multihull, Rum Line, continued his winning record and took home awards for Fastest Elapsed Time and 1st place in the Multihull division.

Prizes were awarded in all divisions. Race results are detailed below. Other than fastest elapsed time, all awards are based on corrected time, adjusted for time-on-time based on PHRF or committee assigned ratings. Detailed results and photos can be found at the Club’s website at http://www.sjiyc.com.

Fastest Elapsed Time:                             03:45:01 Rum Line, Ben Colwell

First Place on Corrected Time:             Hydra, Sam Richardson


  • 1st         Rum Line, Ben Colwell
  • 2nd       Makika, Nigel Oswald        
  • 3rd        Sea Puppy, Bruce von Borstel


  • 1st         Moon Doggie, Phil Johnson & Peg Gerlock         
  • 2nd       Fourth Watch, Bryan Colwell
  • 3rd        Zig Zag, Sam Kanner


  • 1st         Misty Blue, Scott Wisenburg     


  • 1st         HULA, Bill Stange


  • 1st         Hydra, Sam Richardson
  • 2nd       Shearwater, Christina Wolfe
  • 3rd        Sir Isaac, John Bailey


  • 1st         Challenge, Michael Durland        
  • 2nd       Freya, Mike Kaminskas
  • 3rd        Interface, Mark Bunker


  • 1st         Crazy I’s, Chris White
  • 2nd       Treachery, Ken Machtley
  • 3rd        Moore-on, Christopher Rosinski


  • 1st         Starfire, Stan Miller        
  • 2nd       Kiana, Rob Kirby
  • 3rd        Shillelagh, Ray Pingree
Posted on August 13, 2019 at 5:49 am by

Categories: Sports

No comments yet. Be the first!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting a comment you grant the San Juan Update a perpetual license to reproduce your words and name/web site in attribution. Inappropriate, irrelevant and contentious comments may not be published at an admin's discretion. Your email is used for verification purposes only, it will never be shared.

Receive new post updates: Entries (RSS)
Receive followup comments updates: RSS 2.0
%d bloggers like this: