OPALCO Board Voting Opens March 22


As a cooperative, OPALCO holds elections for its board positions on an annual basis.

The 2021 election is the first year of the staggered election process. ALL OPALCO members vote in every election regardless of their home district.

The following are running for OPALCO board positions this year:

District 2 (two positions open): Rick Christmas, Joseph Cohen, Rick Fant and Jeffrey Struthers
District 3 (one position open): Eric Beckman, Peter Garlock, Tom Osterman

Find out more about this year’s candidates at our candidate forum at 5 p.m. March 17 via Zoom. Email communications@opalco.com to get registration information.

Ballots and voting materials will be sent to members on March 22, the day the election opens, and also will be posted online at www.opalco.com. Members will receive their ballots by email or via USPS, depending on each member’s stated preference. Ballots are due online or by mail no later than 10 a.m. on April 21.

Election results will be announced on Saturday, April 24 at OPALCO’s annual meeting via Zoom. This year’s annual meeting will have lots of great prizes including electric lawn tools, back-up batteries for outage prep and electric home items. OPALCO will also have breakout sessions with relevant topics for members including OPALCO’s energy programs, Rock Island developments, solar projects and more!

Orcas Power & Light Cooperative (OPALCO) is our member-owned cooperative electric utility, serving more than 11,000 members on 20 islands in San Juan County.

Posted on March 2, 2021 at 5:00 am by

Categories: Energy

No comments yet. Be the first!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting a comment you grant the San Juan Update a perpetual license to reproduce your words and name/web site in attribution. Inappropriate, irrelevant and contentious comments may not be published at an admin's discretion. Your email is used for verification purposes only, it will never be shared.

Receive new post updates: Entries (RSS)
Receive followup comments updates: RSS 2.0
%d bloggers like this: