OPALCO Candidate Forum March 17, Election March 22


OPALCO members are owners of the cooperative and each year elect community members to the board. Board members set rates, make policies and plan for our community’s energy future.

Members will be receiving their voter’s guide and ballot either by email or via mail. All OPALCO members vote in every election regardless of their home district.

The following are running for OPALCO board positions this year:
District 2 (two positions open; vote for two): Rick Christmas, Joseph Cohen, Rick Fant and Jeffrey Struthers
District 3 (one position open; vote for one): Eric Beckman, Peter Garlock, Tom Osterman

OPALCO will be holding a candidate forum via Zoom so members can find out more about each candidate at 5 p.m., March 17.

Find candidate bios, candidate positions on key issues affecting OPALCO members, and a recording of the candidate forum after the March 17th event here. Register for the Candidate Forum at www.opalco.com.

Ballots are due online or by mail no later than 10 a.m., April 21.

Election results will be announced on Saturday, April 24 at OPALCO’s Annual Meeting via Zoom. This year’s annual meeting will have lots of great prizes including electric lawn tools, back-up batteries for outage prep and electric home items.

Orcas Power & Light Cooperative is our member-owned cooperative electric utility, serving more than 11,000 members on 20 islands in San Juan County. OPALCO provides electricity that is 95% greenhouse-gas-free and is generated predominantly by hydroelectric plants. OPALCO was founded in 1937. 

Posted on March 11, 2021 at 5:30 am by

Categories: Energy

No comments yet. Be the first!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting a comment you grant the San Juan Update a perpetual license to reproduce your words and name/web site in attribution. Inappropriate, irrelevant and contentious comments may not be published at an admin's discretion. Your email is used for verification purposes only, it will never be shared.

Receive new post updates: Entries (RSS)
Receive followup comments updates: RSS 2.0
%d bloggers like this: